Posted on

Slumdog Millionaire

Slumdog Millionaire

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1010048/?ref_=sr_1

Director: Danny Boyle and Loveleen Tandan 

Slumdog Millionaire is about a man named Jamal, who grew up poor in the Indian slums, entering a competition in India that is basically like America’s Who Wants to be a Millionaire. When he ends up winning the show he is accused of cheating and for the most part the rest of the movie is shot in flashback form, with each flashback telling how he knows the answer for every question. The flashbacks show most of Jamal’s life, including the girl he loved, Latika. 

I watched this movie at my house on Saturday night. It seemed like a perfect movie night so I decided to watch a movie that was required. 

I chose this film because it was on one of the lists of required movies. I chose this specific one off of the list because I had heard good things about it. 

One of the things I liked most about the film was the choice of actor to play Jamal. The actor’s name is Dev Patel and he starred in the first and second season of one of my favorite shows of all time, Skins. I thought he was really good in Skins and by doing a great job in this film he reaffirmed my thoughts of him being a great actor. 

The one thing I didn’t like about this film was how I couldn’t relate to the plot very well. Ive never been around slums, or even studied slums, so I didn’t really know what to expect about the slum life. The movie did a good job of letting me see what it was like but it still felt like I couldn’t relate to it. 

I would recommend this movie. The story was very heart warming and i thought it was shot pretty well. 

Leave a comment